#WhyAreYUHere

Why are you in university? Why are you at Glendon? Why your specific program? Why are you still here?

These are just a handful of questions #TeamAwesome decided we should try answering this month.

Here’s my story:

For as long as I can remember, I have been in love with Québec.

I often joke that it stole a piece of my heart the first time I went and that I need to move there to reclaim what’s mine.

Needless to say, in grade 11, I was certain I was going to be studying there. I also thought I’d be studying in psychology since it had peaked my interest (in no small part due to my love of self-analysis).

Wait what?

Kind of far from the girl who’s now studying Communications and who boasts having only ever applied to Glendon.

So determined was I to study in Québec, I skipped the OUF despite my school’s councillor urging everyone to go. I mean, seeing universities in Ontario was useless to me, Québec was my future.

I researched relentlessly the options I had, and how to apply as an out of province student.

I learned that I’d have to do a transition year because of the different education system in Québec.

Well that’s kind of annoying, but I can understand, so whatever.

One month later, on my top university choice, I stumble upon a page stating that I have to be 18 before September 1st of the year I’d be starting to be accepted.

WHAT?!

My birthday is in September, how could you do this to me? There’s no way I’m waiting a year to apply, I’m not about to take a year off from my studies, that one random person once told me that most people don’t ever go back after!

(feel free to add more illogical and incorrect 16 year old annoyance here)

In the logic of my teenage ire, I decided that this didn’t deserve further research and that this rule obviously applied to every university in Québec.

Naturally, this also meant I decided to give up on studying in Québec. Since I had made up my mind, I also promptly lost the page I found the rule on and still wonder to this day if I read it right.

Regardless, I now needed a new plan, and I was now limiting myself to choices in Ontario to avoid further complications. Teenage me didn’t like complications that ended in disappointment. Furthermore, there was no way I would study in any language other than French. Cue dramatic decrease in options.

Should you ever question my love for my culture and language, remember I had it permanently branded into my skin

At the time, I only knew about Laurentienne and Ottawa in the francophone pool. I was also starting to lose my initial interest in psychology. So what was a girl to do?

Well, I started looking up random programs that seemed interesting on the electronicInfo website since it showed the requirements to get into the program as well as showing which programs were offered in French. As I jumped around various majors, I noticed a third option that kept popping up alongside UO and UL. The name and the logo were both completely unknown to me back then.

I wasn’t overly thrilled with Ottawa nor Laurentienne, so I decided to explore this third option.

What the heck even is this Glendon place?

I started looking at the programs, and discovered the International Studies program and the iBA which seemed perfect for me back then.

A bit more research about the campus and I was in love. I didn’t need to hear more to know that Glendon was the place for me.

What was the next logical step?

Obviously, spend the summer obsessively researching every little factoid I could find about the campus and what I needed to know before applying.

Come September, I was giddy to apply, and thought I knew everything I could possibly want or need to know. That is, until Glendon came to present at my high school.

I was the only person to attend aside from the councillor. Truth be told, my friends thought I was just trying to get out of math.

That day, Sophie came to present Glendon to me and because I was the only one there, the presentation lost all of the stuffy formality that I would see during presentations for other universities. As every slide passed, we found ourselves joking about how I already knew everything about Glendon. 

I would soon learn this wasn’t actually true.

At the end of the presentation, Sophie opened my eyes to the world of the eAmbassadors I had somehow missed during all of my research. I was and still am an internet addict and the entire idea of students blogging about their university experience blew my 17 year old mind.

Needless to say, by the time Sophie left, it was obvious I would be at Glendon in September. She even told me to join the ambassador team once I started since I was already so enthusiastic.

The next few months were a whirlwind.

Memories old and new at the time

I applied. I was admitted and joined the #GL2018 group on Facebook. I started talking to  and helping everyone I could in the group. I was informed I was part of the Top Scholars admitted and got fancy perks. I went to Expérience Glendon, falling even more in love while I was there. I went to a course during MarchBreakU. I made a guide for my first year in university. I graduated highschool. I asked the current eAmbassadors how to join the team. I organised a meet up with #GL2018 in Toronto. I started my blog. I talked about my choice of Glendon and my lack of worries. I applied to the eAmbassador team and got accepted. I did Jumpstart, then Frosh.

Everything was new and exciting. I blinked once and half the year had passed. I was on council, I was doing everything, but my grades were slipping and I was falling out of love with my major.

University wasn’t as easy for me as high school had been.

I needed to learn to put effort into my learning (which also meant choosing class over that cool activity you really want to go to). I needed to learn to balance a social life that was the complete opposite of what I’d known before. I needed to find a program that fit me better.

In second year, I focused on regaining balance. I didn’t succeed entirely, but I improved and I grew as a person. This year I get to finish what I started to get back on track. I’m creating a better balance, and finalising my choice of major. (I imagine it’s the struggle of many multipotentialites)

Looking back, 16 year old me, who gave up on Québec, would not have stuck around for this struggle. She would have crumbled under the weight. 16 year old me wouldn’t even have been able to imagine the communities I’ve developed and become a part of here.

However, 16 year old me is incredibly proud of everything she’s accomplished.

I’ve already come so far

But why stick around if you’re struggling so much with your studies?

This answer is much easier.

Glendon has allowed me to grow so much as a person, and I have so much growing left to do. I struggle with program choices and classes, but it’s a struggle I refuse to back down from.

I want to learn, and I want to study something I’ll love till the very end. I wanted to graduate from Glendon with an iBA and I still do. I still will.

Regardless of the past struggles and the struggles ahead, this is where I am meant to be right now.

This is my time.

This is my story.

This is why I’m here.

~Nad

Want to see more eAmbassadors answers? Find them all here:

Ana

Ayse

Jasmin

Krysta

5 réflexions sur “#WhyAreYUHere

  1. Ping : Why Are YU Here? – Destination Graduation

  2. Ping : #WhyAreYUHere: A Meditation on Having Nothing Figured Out | This Glorious Unknown

  3. Ping : #WhyAreYUHere: Thoughts from a girl Who Doesn’t Know What She is Doing (or What I Learned from Playing An Evil Fairy Queen) – The Rebecca Project ✦ A Glendon eambassador blog

Laisser un commentaire

