Overnight Adventures

I’m in my 3rd year of living in Toronto. Since I’ve lived here 1 thing hasn’t changed: finding someone to go adventuring with downtown last minute in the middle of the night is next to impossible. What could I possibly do in such extenuating circumstances? Why, throw caution to the wind and go adventuring alone of course!

This time, it occurred just as I got out of seeing Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children at around 00h30. Coming out of the theatre on Yonge and Eg, it occurred to me that I wasn’t tired, didn’t have any heavy bag to carry and since I now have a room, I had no obligation to be anywhere. This is when my inner Bilbo decided to strike.

Even the mall was empty

As it was midnight, I texted a few friends to see if they would join me, to no avail. If they weren’t already under the sandman’s spell, the sweet embrace of their bed had a pull too strong for them to resist.This is of course why I ended up on my adventure alone. No lack of companions could keep me from it.

Just like nothing can keep Batman from this bat signal

Although I’d walked to the movies, I had no desire to walk the 2 hours to get downtown. This meant logically that I needed to take out money from the bank and find a way to turn it into bus change. Pretty straightforward:

  1. Go to the bank;
  2. Find a store with cheap items;
  3. Profit.

Once I had the change, I needed to find where to take the bus to get downtown, which meant finding wifi since my data is completely used up.

Luckily, I crossed paths with a really sweet girl named Jackie whom I’d met at the corner store. Jackie had a fantastic hat which is why I started talking to her and had just come back from seeing Adele.

I never intended to ask her for bus help, but it happened as we were chatting and I was asking for a picture – I’ve also started taking pictures of interesting seeming strangers by the way.

Kinda blurry, but I didn’t want to blind her with flash

With her help, I was able to find my bus and be whisked of to the mystical world of Harbourfront after midnight.

Hint: it’s very dark

Most of the night was spent wandering on the water’s edge. I learned that there are apparently a few art galleries there that I’ll have to visit in the future. I also learned that there are very few people out at that time of night on a Tuesday.

The general silence was extremely unexpected. Coming from the countryside and going to Glendon, when I think of downtown, I think of it as this super busy place, always alive and buzzing. Meanwhile, I crossed paths with less people than I could count on my hands.

My night was spent wandering, singing, knitting and taking pictures of whatever caught my fancy for future reference. By future reference I mean both future pictures and interesting events.

Like this event I won’t be able to go to because it’s on a weekend

I probably spent a good 2-3 hours on the Harbourfront before deciding to wander elsewhere. So at about 5h30 I started a trek to the distillery District. Unsurprisingly at this point, it was also empty.

The night was nearing it’s end, and my desire for adventure had calmed so now it was time to find my way back home (aka Glendon).

My only regret is that I didn’t have a friend to join in the adventure with me. Before the year ends thought it will happen.

~Nad

Laisser un commentaire

