The Perpetual First Year And The Cake Of Life

1st year: International Studies

2nd year: Sociology

3rd year: Communications

I’m a bit of a perpetual first year. Needless to say, I get asked fairly often why I keep switching majors and if I’ll ever graduate.

Although they say differently, people act like going to university is about going in, getting a degree, and getting out as fast as possible. I personally see the degree as the basic foundation for the cake of life.

If you just want a degree, there are universities everywhere around the world. You can even do your courses online to get one. You can aim for a university with a prestigious name or one that will grant you a degree with ease so you can move onto other things.
I want a degree, but I never wanted just a degree.

I want to study something that makes me want to wake up every morning. I want to meet people who challenge the way I see the world. I want to take a drink from every Fountain of Knowledge that peaks my interest.

And that’s just the academic half.

When I talk about the university experience, there’s so much I could add.

I want to be able to help people. I want to enjoy the time I have before I graduate. I want to make the most of my first taste of true freedom.

Yes, I’m at my third major. Yes, I’ll probably graduate later. Yes, university is still expensive.

But,

While others are following the basic recipe, I’m trying out new ingredients. They might have one nice cake at the end, but I’ll have more. 
They may not all be good, but I can guarantee that at least one of them will be better than the basic recipe.

~Nad

Laisser un commentaire

