Making a New Home

Hey everyone,
Tonight marks my first official night at Glendon. This is the moment I’ve been waiting for. My room is set up, I’m here and yet it hasn’t sunk in completely. Maybe once everyone starts getting here tomorrow it will, but for now, I’m just exhausted.

For the past 2 weeks, I’ve been packing and preparing for the move. At least 10 boxes, a basket and countless bags later everything was ready to go. I was starting to get impatient!

image

Next step was fitting it all in the car. I’m lucky I didn’t decide to bring more because there wouldn’t have been any room. A huge thanks to my mom for her superb packing skills. On the other hand, going through Toronto traffic with all my things on a humid day was a bit less comfortable. Thank goodness for A/C!

When I got to Glendon, I realised I forgot something else while packing. My room is on the top floor (Hooray for C house Hilliard!). Once I got my keys (and ended up chatting for a good couple minutes), the task at hand finally dawned on me. All of those boxes, even the heavy book filled one, needed to get to the top floor. Cue boiling of the unfit as I made the trip 3 times loaded with everything I could carry. Had I not had any help, I can’t imagine the state I would have ended up in.

wpid-wp-1408847042898.jpeg
Boxes
wpid-wp-1408847049069.jpeg
Even more boxes

Obviously, after a few goodbyes, my first plan of action was to take a nice shower to cool off. That is, until I couldn’t manage to turn the water on. Luckily as I was about to give up, an upper year student kindly explained to me how to turn it on. Apparently you have to pull the tap thing to make the water run; pushing it or turning it does nothing otherwise.

Throughout this entire ordeal of learning how to use a shower, I hadn’t set up my room. Apparently unboxing things and putting them away takes quite a large amount of time for me. Everything has to be placed just right, everything needs to be organised until I start letting it turn to chaos, everything needs far too much consideration compared to the disorderly state of my room at home!

image

image

image

I must say, I’m satisfied with my end result. I originally planned to keep the furniture as it was, but then I realised there was a plug hidden behind the bed. Convenient much?!

As today draws to an end, I’m just happy to be sleeping in my new home. Tomorrow, more people will be arriving for JumpStart and I am far too excited to meet them! I also need to figure out how to work the WiFi, but for now, I’m going to bed. It’s been a long, eventful day and I can not wait for a new one to start!

image

~Nad

P.S. Thank you to all the fantastic people who helped me today. It just made moving in all the better!

2 réflexions sur “Making a New Home

  1. Ping : Premières Rencontres, Nouvelle Famille | L'Effet Papillon

  2. Ping : Flashbacks To Jumpstart – L'Effet Papillon

Laisser un commentaire

